Panzer Grenadier Battles on February 20th:
An Army at Dawn #32 - Kasserine Pass: Gore Force Nihon Silk #2 - Koepang, Day One
An Army at Dawn #33 - Kasserine Pass: Egged On
Third Annual PG-HQ Awards
by Shad, 2013-08-18

Better late than never!

All of these annual awards are based on what we call the PG-HQ Year, in this case - Year 4 - all activity from June 6th 2013 to June 5th 2014, inclusive. Furthermore, in order to be eligible for an award you must have played and recorded at least 6 battles during this period. That's equivalent to achieving our first promotion from Recruit to Private. The reasoning is if you can't play once every 2 months you probably don't deserve an award!

Also, don't forget that the full list of yearly winners for each award is in our Hall of Fame!


This award is totally pointless but I love it anyway.

At 17:08:29 on 2013 June 6th, U.S Central Time, enrique added the first play of PG-HQ's fourth year. Congratulations buddy, you and your play for Fall of France #41 were FIRST! in Year 4.

Writer's Club

Unawarded! Articles fell by the wayside AGAIN in Year 4 and 5. I will place renewed emphasis on this section in Year 6. There is still a great deal of untapped potential here!

Player of the Year

Four years, four recipients - our most prestigious award has proven hard to defend! This year's winner once again stood head and shoulders above the rest. Congratulations Brett Nicholson, you are the 2014 Player of the Year with an impressive 194 scenarios logged between 2013 June 6th and 2014 June 5th!

Shared Player of the Year

Edging out the competition at the finish line with just one more play, our first PotY repeat champion is Hugmenot with 28 shared plays in 2014!

Chronicler of the Year

Plays are the fuel that drives our statistics, but the character, the nature of Panzer Grenadier only truly seeps forth from our After Action Reports. We have a new champion this year with a grueling 132 reports filed. Congratulations Brett Nicholson!

Longest Wind

They just go on and on and on! Hopefully it's all worth reading in the end!

The PG-HQ member with the longest wind in 2014 was vince hughes, who averaged a copious 1,019 words per AAR over 22 AARs!

  • Runner-up: campsawyer, 897 words per AAR over 22 AARs
  • Second Runner-up: Matt W, 532 words per AAR over 29 AARs
Got to the Point

Was there even a battle? No one knows because these authors aren't talking!

The PG-HQ member with the lowest average AAR word count in 2014, and therefore the member who most readily got to the point, was scrane, who averaged a miserly 177 words per AAR over 12 AARs!

  • Runner-up: davidthedad, 213 words per AAR over 10 AARs
  • Second Runner-up: gulatum, 218 words per AAR over 15 AARs
Easy to Please

Easy to Please goes to the member with the highest average scenario rating over the past year. 2014's most perpetually satisfied member was davidthedad with an average rating of 3.8667 over 15 scenario ratings.

  • Runner-up: enrique averaged 3.75 over 24 ratings
  • Second Runners-up: Michael Murphy averaged 3.6471 over 68 ratings
Hard to Please

Conversely, some people just ain't ever happy with their battles. Maybe they have bad luck picking scenarios to play, maybe they simply hold Panzer Grenadier to a higher standard than the rest of us... no matter the reason, we salute their discriminating taste all the same!

2014's most perpetually dissatisfied member was dricher with an average rating of 2.4483 over 29 ratings.

  • Runner-up: plloyd1010 averaged 3.875 over 8 ratings
  • Second Runner-up: arixius averaged 2.9 over 10 ratings
Bounty Master

The Bounty Master award goes to the member with the highest bounty total for the year. This year's winner is Brett Nicholson, who claimed a peerless 47,449 points over 326 bounties.

  • Runner-up: Matt W, 17,301 points over 92 bounties
  • Second Runner-up: TheDoctor, 14,877 points over 94 bounties
Bounty Sniper

The Bounty Sniper award goes to the member with the highest bounty average. This year's winner - finally ending rerathbun's domination - is plloyd1010, who averaged 201.2143 points over 14 bounties.

  • Runner-up: davidthedad, 188.92 points per bounty over 25 bounties
  • Second Runner-up: Matt W, 188.0543 points per bounty over 92 bounties
Bounty Trophy Hunter

Fancy a big game hunt? The Trophy Hunter award goes to the member who has bagged the largest play & AAR bounty set by points over the past year.

Dethroning yet another multi-year champion, this year's winner is plloyd1010, who bagged 561 points with his play & AAR set for Power of the East #11.

Decisively Indecisive

"We fought and we fought and we fought and we fought... and at the end of the day... nobody won!"

Frustrating I'm sure! In honor of those among us who, try as they might, seem to always get stuck in stalemates, we've created the Decisively Indecisive award.

If you're going to take the trouble to do something, might as well do it the best you possibly can! 2014's most Decisively Indecisive member was rerathbun who logged 2 draws over 6 plays for a draw rate of 33%!

  • Runner-up: arixius, 3 draws over 10 plays, 30%
  • Second Runner-up: enrique, 7 draws over 24 plays, 29.17%
Game Spice of Life

Also known as the special award for taking different boxes down off the shelf, the Game Spice of Life is given to the member who plays the most different games in one year. Our 2014 winner is Michael Murphy who played 27 different games this year!

Nation Spice of Life

Continuing his run of diversity success is Michael Murphy, having captained 17 different nations over the past year!

Unit Spice of Life

Finally making it to the winner's circle, Unit Spice of Life goes to Hugmenot! Over the past year Hugmenot has led 396 different units into battle!

Persian Warlord

Though you can do battle in Panzer Grenadier with as few as 7 counters, the veterans know that vast, sweeping battles are where the command and control system shines best.

Persian Warlord goes to the member who played the scenario with the largest counter total over the past year. This year we again have co-winners as waynebaumber and vince hughes marshaled 500 units when they met in battle over Tank Battles #32!

Xerxes Reborn

And then there's the general who makes his enemies fight in the shade. Xerxes Reborn goes to the member who commanded the most total units over the course of the previous year. This award goes to Brett Nicholson, who led 14,817 units into battle after battle!

  • Runner-up: Matt W, 6,361 units
  • Second Runner-up: Hugmenot, 4,755 units
Tireless Warrior

On one end of the spectrum, Panzer Grenadier offers a handful of battles that clock in at 105 minutes maximum. At the other end, the iron-grog can immerse himself in multi-day rampages. The Tireless Warrior award is given annually to the member who bagged the longest single scenario by turn total.

This year we honor Brett Nicholson who tackled the 199 turns for Afrika Korps #2!

Tireless Campaigner

But when the dust settles and the battle has finished, the Tireless Warrior may rest, whereas the Tireless Campaigner must carry on until the last of his enemies are scattered to the four winds.

For logging the most total turns in battle over the past year with an exhausting 5,480 turns of death and destruction, Brett Nicholson is the 2014 Tireless Campaigner!


The Cinderella of our Annual Awards, the glorious honor that is LAST! is bestowed upon that user who recorded a play closest to midnight, 2014 June 5th.

This year's winner is CravenDumps35, who logged a play for Eastern Front Deluxe #7 at 20:33:18, June 5th. Congratulations buddy, you were LAST! in Year 4.