Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Rules] Can non-personnel units dig in?
01-16-2022, 02:12 AM,
Can non-personnel units dig in?
I am a newbie to PG and really like the game!   I was not sure if digging-in was limited solely to personnel units and leaders or if weapon units (AT guns, APC's, Tanks, other vehicles) can dig in.  It wasn't that unusual for these weapons to be dug in in WW2, particularly on the steppe or desert due to lack of defensive terrain.  Thoughts?

Thanks all for your help!
01-16-2022, 02:48 AM,
RE: Can non-personnel units dig in?
Everything can dig in except for cavalry, motorcycles and transports. (That last one befuddles me a bit.) APCs can dig in because of their hybrid status.
... More and more, people around the world are coming to realize that the world is flat! Winking
01-16-2022, 11:30 AM,
It is SO unrealistic to ban motorcycle and cavalry units from digging in! Dismounting from either is quick & easy and there have always been horse-holders in mounted units. IMHO, this is another example of a bad PG rule that's begging to be changed in the next edition.
goosebrown likes this post
01-16-2022, 12:30 PM,
(01-16-2022, 11:30 AM)treadasaurusrex Wrote: It is SO unrealistic to ban motorcycle and cavalry units from digging in! Dismounting from either is quick & easy and there have always been horse-holders in mounted units. IMHO, this is another example of a bad PG rule that's begging to be changed in the next edition.

Dismounting has been off and on included in the series in the module rules. Seemingly based on whether or not the designer remembered it was a thing. Once dismounted they usually couldn't remount though, presumably for ease of bookkeeping?
treadasaurusrex likes this post
01-16-2022, 02:10 PM,