Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bridges
07-18-2020, 05:28 PM, (This post was last modified: 10-25-2020, 05:13 PM by Greyfox.)
Bridges
Gents,

I brought this up with Doug McNair almost 12 years ago, he told me I should write it up for daily content.  I didn't.

As a military professional I don't understand why there aren't direct, AT, or BF fire column modifiers when targeting someone on a chokepoint like a bridge.   

Assaults - If attacking from a Bridge hex into an assault on units in an adjacent hex, there should be a negative. shift for the attacker.  Basically you are attacking across a narrow front along an avenue of approach that is both restrictive and is subject to being raked by direct fire.  This could be a special rule that only applies to scenarios where attackers are trying to secure bridges (like Bicycle Races in White Eagles).  Say a negative one or two column shift to the attacker, or first fire to the defender when you are assaulting out of a bridge hex.

Direct fire or AT Fire - I think at least a +1 column shift. First a bridge is a choke point (or fatal funnel), and anyone targeting forces crossing a bridge is at a distance advantage. 

Bombardment fire - A bridge is a known point, and would be much easier to target effectively.  The ability to mass fires at a choke point would also be deserving of a +1 column shift.
cjsiam and joe_oppenheimer like this post
01-24-2021, 01:09 AM,
RE: Bridges
(07-18-2020, 05:28 PM)Greyfox Wrote: Gents,

I brought this up with Doug McNair almost 12 years ago, he told me I should write it up for daily content.  I didn't.

As a military professional I don't understand why there aren't direct, AT, or BF fire column modifiers when targeting someone on a chokepoint like a bridge.