Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
4th Edition DF chart - Opportunity Fire question
04-08-2020, 01:22 AM,
4th Edition DF chart - Opportunity Fire question
Hi all,

I have been playing PG for about 8 years now (3rd and 4th edition) and came across a question on Opportunity fire that i never thought of (or noticed for that matter) after looking at the chart.  Namely,  if you look at the 4th edition charts, the +1 for opportunity fire on the DF chart indicates +1 Opportunity Fire (13.0) vs. personnel unit.   Looking at the definitions section in the rules (1.2),  there are examples of Personnel units and it states Anti-Tank Rifle units but not AT guns, etc.

The situation we came across was that a German 37mm AT gun on a wagon with a LT was moving and fired on by INF units.   At the time, we couldn't determine the rule so we allowed the +1 for the opportunity fire (as well as the +1 for the target is an AT gun, etc) - didn't change the overall result but looking at it now, I don't think we should have applied that +1. 

Thinking back, we may have applied this modifier in a few games that may have changed a result... Smile
04-08-2020, 01:44 AM,
RE: 4th Edition DF chart - Opportunity Fire question
I'm thinking probably no +1 for Artillery on the assumption that the bonus on artillery assumes they are static and cannot take as much cover as other units. When towed, opp fire is similar to that on other moving units, so +1 on that only.
04-08-2020, 02:01 AM,
Troubled by the imprecision of the words.....though agree in concept...

+1Opportunity fire against personnel is pretty clear....

But a unit being transported---by wagon, by truck---is that a personnel unit? -- by definitions it is not....So no + 1 modifier....
...it's clearly moving in open (words from another place and time...) So you can DO Opportunity fire AGAINST a wagon transporting an Gun---but, no +1 for Opp vs. Personnel.