Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rules Activating units outside of an Assault to move on a IF
#1
4th Ed.

This one is new to me. 

Leader inside an assault with 3 friendly units, one of which is Dem. He activates all 3 in the assault hex and 1 unit outside of it to move in IF the Dem unit fails to recover. Is this valid?

So he's looking to try and recover, if succeeds he assaults with the other 2 units, if recover fails it flees and he brings in the outside unit and assaults with 3 units. 

My first reaction is to say 'no' but I can't say for sure that is right. Whether the Dem unit recovers or not the outside unit is going to be 'Move/Fire'ed. 
Reply
#2
I think it's legal.
... actually you Americans are probably the most dangerous people in the world. This is because you treat war as a job, and your culture has an excellent work ethic.
-- paraphrased from John Keegan's Fields of Battle

Reply
#3
It's legal.

If assaulting can wait an activation or more, you may want to use an activation to activate just the demoralized unit to recover and, if it fails (and flees), use a latter activation to activate the assault hex and bring the adjacent unit (activated by the leader) in the assault hex.
Reply
#4
(01-24-2018, 07:13 AM)Hugmenot Wrote: It's legal.

If assaulting can wait an activation or more, you may want to use an activation to activate just the demoralized unit to recover and, if it fails (and flees), use a latter activation to activate the assault hex and bring the adjacent unit (activated by the leader) in the assault hex.

Right, that I can see. I wasn't sure about doing it all in one activation. 
Reply
#5
(01-24-2018, 11:24 AM)richvalle Wrote: I wasn't sure about doing it all in one activation. 
That would be more of a tactical decision.
... actually you Americans are probably the most dangerous people in the world. This is because you treat war as a job, and your culture has an excellent work ethic.
-- paraphrased from John Keegan's Fields of Battle

Reply
#6
(01-24-2018, 12:14 PM)plloyd1010 Wrote:
(01-24-2018, 11:24 AM)richvalle Wrote: I wasn't sure about doing it all in one activation. 
That would be more of a tactical decision.

Have done this as well. The only problem with doing it all in one activation is the possible recovery of the DM unit (which can't be used in the assault) and the now-activated adjacent unit being spent for a fire order that it may not be able to use unless there are other targets external to the assault.
Reply
#7
Nonetheless, it's tempting to do it in one activation when the enemy units in the assault are not in good order and they have yet to activate this turn. I want to finish them off before they recover!
Reply
#8
(01-25-2018, 04:49 AM)Hugmenot Wrote: Nonetheless, it's tempting to do it in one activation when the enemy units in the assault are not in good order and they have yet to activate this turn. I want to finish them off before they recover!

Yep, this was the case. DanStorm won Init and tried the above tactic. 

In this case the Dem HMG DID recover and the activated Inf outside the assault had to "hurry up and wait". 
Reply
#9
It's a funny situation where you actually hope the DEM unit doesn't recover so it will flee and you can bring in reinforcements.

Reminds me of Warriors of God. In that game you sometimes choose not to pay ransom on a captured leader. Then you hope he dies in prison so the other player doesn't get a victory point.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)