Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Cavalry and Infantry going into assault
#1
Hi all,

In a recent game with Wayne B.,  There was an opportunity for a Cavalry unit with a leader 2 hexes away from an enemy hex and an infantry unit adjacent to both the Cav unit and enemy to assault the enemy unit.

The question is:  Can the Cavalry unit leader order himself and the infantry unit into assault and if so,  does the enemy get the op fire against the cavalry if the infantry unit moves in first?

The rules do state that Cavalry leaders move 6 and can execute a cavalry charge but act as regular leaders in all other respects (Rule 6.91).  Then in the Assault rules, it states that "Only activated, good-order units directed by a leader of their own type (regular or tank) may enter an adjacent hex occupied by enemy units... (Exception: Cavalry charges, 15.31)"   (Rule #12.11).

Based on this,  the move where the Cav leader orders the infantry in and then follows up with the charge seems a legal move and since there is a unit already in assault, that unit does not get the Op fire against the CAV (since each unit completes its move before the next one moves/fires).

Am I correct here?

Thanks,
Tony
Reply
#2
Brought this issue up a few years back, over on ConSim. The consensus of the the time was yes. The cavalry leader could activate both and assault. If the infantry moved first, they would prevent op-fire against the cavalry. Further more the modifier condition "... side is charging cavalry", should be changed to "... side includes charging cavalry". Apart from the academic exercise that I created, I haven't heard of anyone actually ending up in that situation, until now.
... actually you Americans are probably the most dangerous people in the world. This is because you treat war as a job, and your culture has an excellent work ethic.
-- paraphrased from John Keegan's Fields of Battle

Reply
#3
(10-12-2017, 03:09 AM)plloyd1010 Wrote: Apart from the academic exercise that I created, I haven't heard of anyone actually ending up in that situation, until now.

Thanks for the answer Peter. This actually occurred in Indian Unity - The Sugar Factory. A great little scenario and it camE up whilst assaulting the town on the bridge. Wayne can attest to that.
Reply
#4
Tony, you played it as I would have.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)