Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Leader Activation
11-24-2022, 11:49 AM,
#5
RE: Leader Activation
(11-24-2022, 10:57 AM)cjsiam Wrote:
(11-24-2022, 05:25 AM)fanghawk Wrote:
(11-23-2022, 09:41 AM)cjsiam Wrote: That would be correct.....
So if you had a stack which had an INF leader, and an Armor leader, they could both activate...
and then start activation chains in neighboring hexes...as appropriate...

Thanks. That’s always the way I’ve played it…otherwise chain activation would be moot.But I started to second guess myself because of the wording. If a leader activates, say a Lieutenant, and then activates the stack next to him, by a strict interpretation of 3.11 if a leader was in that stack, regardless of rank including a leader of higher rank, he could activate himself. So making it refer only to self-activated stacks makes sense, but that makes it redundant with other rules about leaders activating in a stack, and it also says whether or not activated by a leader…so yeah. Thought maybe I’d missed something all these years.

The point you have to keep in mind is that lower rank leaders cannot activate higher rank leaders who are adjacent....

The trick (if you call it that---the tactical mechanic by another name..) is to get both INF and TANK leaders going in the same
activation (to assault for example) you have to stack them the turn before, and activate their stack---otherwise the INF leader activation takes place in
a different activation then the TANK leader activation...which means the Assault is rolled after the INF activation before the tanks move into the hex...

This gets really tedious with early war forces that have named/marked leaders...you have to have THAT tank in the right place...

Yeah...if I'm not careful, or get more focused on the approach than force organization, I always end up with LTs next to each other, or a SGT in between the MAJ and the CAPT somehow.  Big Grin  As I mentioned...that's always the way I've played it...it's just that as I was recently reading over 3.11, I noticed it said a leader could activate "himself" if he's in a stack that activates. That's not strictly another leader activating him. That's him activating himself when the stack he's in activates. So I started thinking, "Wait a minute..."  I appreciate the feedback...if everyone had been like "Duh dude...of course leaders can activate if their stack does" then I'd have been kicking myself for sweating over lining up the chains all this time.
Reply


Messages In This Thread
Leader Activation - by fanghawk - 11-22-2022, 05:43 AM
RE: Leader Activation - by cjsiam - 11-23-2022, 09:41 AM
RE: Leader Activation - by fanghawk - 11-24-2022, 05:25 AM
RE: Leader Activation - by cjsiam - 11-24-2022, 10:57 AM
RE: Leader Activation - by fanghawk - 11-24-2022, 11:49 AM
RE: Leader Activation - by cjsiam - 11-24-2022, 12:02 PM
RE: Leader Activation - by fanghawk - 11-24-2022, 12:29 PM
RE: Leader Activation - by Greyfox - 11-24-2022, 05:06 PM

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)